Not the kind of mom I thought I’d be… but I’m growing.

Today…. When my teen screamed at me, I screamed and yelled back.  I’m not the kind of mom I thought I’d be… but I’m growing.

Today…. I called my kid “stupid”.  I’m not the kind of mom I thought I’d be… but I’m growing.

Today….I didn’t want to be a mom.  I’m not the kind of mom I thought I’d be… but I’m growing.

Today…I spoke to my child in an angry voice.  I’m not the kind of mom I thought I’d be… but I’m growing.

Today…I dreaded summer break and having to deal with my kids the entire day, for 3 months.  I’m not the kind of mom I thought I’d be… but I”m growing.

Today… my child tried to tell me a story he had made up while I was working on something.  I told him to go away, it wasn’t important.  I’m not the kind of mom I thought I’d be…. but I’m growing.

Today… I turned on the television instead of playing with my kids.  I’m not the kind of mom I thought I’d be, but I’m growing.

Today… I didn’t want to get out of bed.  I’m not the kind of mom I thought I’d be, but I’m growing.

Today… I learned to apologize to my child when I make mistakes, when I lose my temper, when I do things I shouldn’t have.

Today… I learned to let the dishes sit, put my work aside, and listen and play with my children.

Today… I learned that being a parent is hard.  Being a parent of special needs kids is exhausting.  It’s ok to take time out for myself and recharge.

Today… I learned I’m not perfect, just like everybody else.

I’m not the kind of mom I thought I’d be… but I’m growing.

Leave a Reply

