The War Against RAD: An Open Letter to Rosie O’Donnell

Wow. Truth. I’m not a fan of the celebrity Rosie, but my heart breaks for the adoptive Mom Rosie, and the challenges she faces. I can’t believe how the media has ripped her apart for the stupidest little things said by her daughter, and a woman who is STILL a drug addict after 18 years, who willingly put drugs into her system while pregnant… but yet she’s a credible witness here? Puh-leez. As another adoptive mom of a child born with meth, cocaine, alcohol, and all kinds of other recreational and prescription drugs in his system at birth, I watch him struggle daily with the simplest of tasks, because of the damage done in utero. Cause and effect – he doesn’t understand. He will make the same mistake again and again, never learning from it. Yet he knows algebra above his grade level. And someday soon he may do the exact same thing as Rosie’s daughter. I dread the day, and yet I expect it, too, on some level.

Herding Chickens and Other Adventures in Foster and Adoptive Care

Behind closed doors: Rosie O'Donnell's adopted daughter says her mom is a ' phony' in public who would put on a happy face, but then ignore her kids at home

Dear Rosie,

I am sorry for your loss. You have lost the most precious thing to any mother. You have lost a child. My hope for you is that Chelsea will eventually realize what her actions have done. In the meantime, be strong, Mama. From one adoptive mother to another, I feel for you. In the midst of everything I am sure that your biggest concern is for your child. Isn’t that always the way? We put them first. We are mothers.

I am sure I’m not the only Trauma Mama out there with a strong suspicion that your daughter may suffer from an attachment disorder of some sort. Of course it’s not my business, nor is it the public’s business. However, when it’s out in the media, I just hope people consider all sides. We never talk about RAD in public, do we? Mental illness is considered to be…

View original post 512 more words

Leave a Reply

